

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Regional Land Transport Committee held in the Council Chamber, The Regional Council Centre, 142-146 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Tuesday, 21 June 2000 at 10.50am

#### **Present**

Cr McDavitt (Chairperson, Wellington Regional Council)

Cr Allen (Wellington Regional Council)

Cr Baird (Hutt City Council)

Cr Barnard (Upper Hutt City Council) (Commercial Road Users Assn) Mr Bognuda (Wellington Regional Council) Cr Bonner (Wellington Regional Council) Cr Buchanan Cr Gibson (Wellington Regional Council) (Wellington Regional Council) Cr Macaskill (Wellington Regional Council) Cr McOueen (Transfund New Zealand) Mr Olsen

Mayor Read (South Wairarapa District Council)

Mr Rendall
Mr Royds
Cr Shields
Cr Turver

(Transit New Zealand)
(Automobile Association)
(Wellington Regional Council)
(Wellington Regional Council)

Cr Walpole (Porirua City Council)

#### **Officers Present**

Messrs Bezett, Brennand and Dr Watson.

# **Public Business**

### **Procedural Items**

## RLT51 Apologies

Resolved

(Cr McDavitt/Cr Allen)

That the apologies from Councillors Cameron, Carterton District Council, Brown, Kapiti Coast District Council, Ms Johnstone, Wellington Regional Chamber of Commerce, Mrs Kennedy, Land Transport Safety Authority, Mr Olsen, Transfund New Zealand, and Ms Warren, Public Transport Public Users/Cyclists/Pedestrians, be confirmed

# RLT52 **Public Participation**

There were no members of the public who wished to participate in the meeting.

#### **Matters for Recommendation**

# RLT53 The Western Corridor Implementation Plan – Additions to the Regional Land Transport Strategy 1999-2004.

Councillor McQueen left the meeting at 10.58am on other Regional Council business.

Moved

(Cr Macaskill/Cr Walpole)

That Council adopt "The Western Corridor Implementation Plan – Addition to the Regional Land Transport Strategy 1999-2004", as amended by the Hearings Subcommittee in response to submissions.

The above motion was **CARRIED** 13 votes for and one against after a division as follows:

	Ayes		Noes
Councillors	Allen	Councillor	Buchanan
	Baird		
	Barnard		
Mr	Bognuda		
	Bonner		
	Gibson		
	Macaskill		
	McDavitt		
Mayor	Read		
Mr	Royds		
	Shields		
	Turver		

Walpole

Mr Olsen and Mr Rendall abstained from voting.

Mr Rendall left the meeting at 11.02am.

Resolved

(Cr Turver/Mr Olsen)

That the Committee record a vote of thanks to the officers of the Technical Working Group for the work put into progressing the Implementation Plan.

# RLT54 Regional Land Transport Committee Terms of Reference

**Report 00.285** 

# File: E/6/2/2

#### **Resolved to Recommend**

(Cr Allen/Cr Turver)

That the amendment of the Terms of Reference of the Regional Land Transport Committee by including reference to the relevant legislation, be adopted.

### **Matters for Information**

#### **RLT55** Other Corridor Plans

**Report 00.447** File: T/4/7/1

Moved

(Cr Baird/Mr Walpole)

That links between the Hutt Valley and Transmission Gully be included in a future Eastern Corridor Implementation Plan.

The above motion was **CARRIED**.

Mr Olsen left the meeting at 11.14am.

Moved

(Mayor Read/Cr Barnard)

That the Wairarapa and Hutt Corridor Plans be combined into a single planning document.

The above motion was **LOST**.

Resolved

(Cr Allen/Cr Baird)

That the report be received.

Councillor Baird left the meeting at 11.28am.

RLT56 **Divisional Manager's Report: June** 

**Report 00.446** File: E/6/8/3

Resolved

(Cr Buchanan/Mayor Reid)

That the report be received.

### **Other Matters**

**RLT57 Notice of Motion – Councillor Gibson** 

**Report 00.451** File: E/5/1/55

Moved (Cr Gibson/Cr Buchanan)

It be recommended that the Regional Council rejects the use of rates to fund Transmission Gully.

**CARRIED** 

# **RLT58** Questions

There were no questions.

#### RLT59 General

Councillor McDavitt expressed his thanks to the members of the Committee for the effort put into resolving this issue.

Resolved

(Cr Shields/Cr Turver)

That the Committee record a vote of thanks to the Chairman, Councillor McDavitt.

The meeting closed at 11.40am.

CR T J McDAVITT

Chairperson

Date