The Evening Post (1st ed) 08 July 2000

Review of Council Membership

On Tuesday 4 July 2000, the Wellington Regional Council resolved that, in terms of section 101 H of the Local Government Act 1974, the Wellington Region will comprise the following six constituencies for purposes of the 2001 Local Authority Elections:

- Kapiti Constituency comprising Kapiti Coast District.
- Mana Constituency comprising Poriruo City.

- Wellington Constituency-comprising Wellington City.
 Lower Hutt Constituency-comprising Lower Hutt City.
 Upper Hutt Constituency-comprising Upper Hutt City.
 Wairarapa Constituency-comprising South Wairarapa District, Masterton District,
 Carterton District and part of Tororua District.

This reflects the six communities of interest identified by the Council.

Having regard to the population, net equolised capitol value and land area of each constituency, the Council will comprise 14 Councillors to be elected os follows:

Constituency Name	Number of Councillors	Councillor to Population Ratio
Kopiti	1	1:41,200
Mona	2	1:23,800
Wellington	5	1:33,340
Lower Hutt	3	1:32,700
Upper Hutt	1	1:37,300
Wairarapo	2	1:19,130

A copy of the full report identifying options considered is ovoilable on request, together with mops clearly identifying the boundaries of those constituencies.



caring about you & your environment Any interested person or organisation may lodge on objection to the proposals, copies of which can be obtained from the Council. Any objection should be in writing and addressed to The Council Secretary, Wellington Regional Council, PO Box 11 646, Wellington.

Submissions close on Monday 21 August 2000 ond will be considered by the Council at a meeting to be held on Tuesday 19 Sepkmber 2000.

www.wrc.govt.nz