9. Regional Land Transport Committee

Membership

A special committee of the Council, comprising no more that 21 people as follows:

- (1) A Regional Councillor as Chairperson
- (2) The Regional Council Chairperson is a member ex officio.
- (3) Up to three other Regional Councillors including the Chairs of the Environment Committee and the Passenger Transport Committee.
- (4) Eight territorial authority councillors with one for each constituent territorial authority wholly within the Region.
- (5) One person from represent each of the following organisations:
 - Transfund New Zealand
 - Transit New Zealand
 - Land Transport Safety Authority
 - Police Commissioner
 - Commercial road users
 - Private road users
 - Public transport users/cyclists/pedestrians
 - Wellington Regional Chamber of Commerce

In the absence of a member, a deputy or nominated alternate member may attend to ensure continuity of representation by organisations.

The Committee meets as required, generally on a quarterly basis.

Quorum: 3 Regional Councillors

Objectives of the Regional Land Transport Committee

Objective 9A

To promote the establishment and maintenance of appropriate, efficient, effective and sustainable transport systems within the Wellington Region and linking it to other regions of New Zealand and the outside world.

Specific Responsibilities of the Regional Land Transport Committee Include

- 9.1.1 Preparing of the five year Regional Land Transport Strategy.
- 9.1.2 Ensuring the Regional Land Transport Strategy is consistent with all statutory requirements.

- 9.1.3 Ensuring transport planning work is co-ordinated with overall planning policies and objectives.
- 9.1.4 Giving due regard to environmental values and pollution in land transport planning.
- 9.1.5 Receiving Annual Reports on implementation of the Regional Land Transport Strategy.

Terms of Reference March 2002