

Report 04.665

Date 18 November 2004

File E/06/11/06

Committee Policy, Finance and Strategy
Author Wayne Hastie Council Secretary

Appointments to the Regional Land Transport Committee

1. Purpose

To enable the Council to make the external appointments to the Regional Land Transport Committee required by the Land Transport Act 1998 (LTA).

2. Background

The LTA requires that every regional council establish a regional land transport committee (RLTC). The RLTC must consist of suitable persons appointed by the council to represent:

- the objectives of economic development, safety and personal security, public health, access and mobility, and environmental sustainability
- cultural interests
- the council
- other territorial authorities in the region
- the Land Transport Safety Authority
- Transfund

In addition, a regional land transport committee is required to take into account the views of land transport network providers.

The Terms of Reference for the RLTC state that in addition to the persons listed above, the Council will appoint one person to represent each of the following national network providers with speaking but not voting rights:

- Transit New Zealand
- New Zealand Railways Corporation (TrackCo)

In August 2004, Greater Wellington advertised for nominations for persons to represent the objectives of economic development, safety and personal security, public health, access and mobility, and environmental sustainability and cultural interests. Nominations were assessed by the then Chair and

04 PAGE 1 OF 4

Deputy Chair of the RLTC and the Divisional Manager, Transport. A nominee and alternate were selected to represent each objective for recommendation to Council.

Letters were sent to all of the authorities to be represented on the RLTC asking for a nominee and alternate.

Ara Tahi have been approached to nominate a representative to represent cultural interests. Ara Tahi will consider the matter at its meeting on 24 November and the outcome will be reported to the Policy, Finance and Strategy Committee meeting.

3. Proposed Representatives

The following persons have been nominated for appointment to the RLTC:

Objective/Organisation	Nominee	Alternate
Economic development	Philip Lewin	Steve Culevski
Safety and personal	Howard Royds	John Christianson
security		
Public health	Dr Stephen Palmer	Dr Margot Mclean
Access and mobility	John Anderson	Maurie Bognuda
Environmental	Brent Efford	Mike Mellor
sustainability		
Cultural interests	TBA	
Kapiti Coast District	Mayor Alan Milne	
Council		
Porirua City Council	Mayor Jenny Brash	
Wellington City Council	Mayor Kerry	Cr Celia Wade-Brown
	Prendergast	
Hutt City Council	Mayor David Ogden	Cr Joy Baird
Upper Hutt City Council	TBA	
South Wairarapa District	Mayor Adrienne	Cr V L Napier
Council	Staples	
Carterton District	TBA	
Council		
Masterton District	TBA	
Council		
Land Transport Safety	Demetra Kennedy	Tim Selby
Authority		
Transfund New Zealand	TBA	
Transit New Zealand	TBA	
New Zealand Railways	Neil Buchanan	Mark Gullery
Corporation		

The proposed representation is consistent with a current legislative amendment that will require that the representatives for economic development, safety and personal security, public health, access and mobility, environmental sustainability and cultural interests are not local authority members.

4. Communication

All nominees and organisations involved will be contacted and advised of the Council's decision.

5. Recommendation

That the Committee **recommend** that Council **appoint** the following persons as members of the Regional Land Transport Committee to represent the objectives and organisations listed and agree that the alternates are able to attend meetings with the same rights as their appointed member when that appointed member is unable to attend:

Objective/Organisation	Appointee	Alternate
Economic development	Philip Lewin	Steve Culevski
Safety and personal	Howard Royds	John Christianson
security		
Public health	Dr Stephen Palmer	Dr Margot Mclean
Access and mobility	John Anderson	Maurie Bognuda
Environmental	Brent Efford	Mike Mellor
sustainability		
Cultural interests	TBA	
Kapiti Coast District	Mayor Alan Milne	
Council		
Porirua City Council	Mayor Jenny Brash	
Wellington City Council	Mayor Kerry	Cr Celia Wade-Brown
	Prendergast	
Hutt City Council	Mayor David Ogden	Cr Joy Baird
Upper Hutt City Council	TBA	
South Wairarapa District	Mayor Adrienne Staples	Cr V L Napier
Council		
Carterton District	TBA	
Council		
Masterton District	TBA	
Council		
Land Transport Safety	Demetra Kennedy	Tim Selby
Authority		
Transfund New Zealand	TBA	
Transit New Zealand	TBA	
New Zealand Railways	Neil Buchanan	Mark Gullery
Corporation		

Report prepared by:

Wayne Hastie Council Secretary