File:E/01/04/01

# **Report 06.221**

# **Policy, Finance and Strategy Committee**

Minute extract from meeting held on 1 June 2006

## **Proposed Representation Arrangements**

## Resolved

That the Committee recommends that Council

- (1) **Receives the report.**
- (2) Notes the content of the report.
- (3) Proposes the following representation arrangements for the Wellington Regional Council for the reasons set out in section 4.3 of Report 06.221:

Constituency name	Constituency boundary	Number of members
Wellington Constituency	Remains unchanged. Based on the current boundary of the Wellington City Council	5
Hutt Valley Constituency	Based on joining the current boundaries of the Hutt City Council and Upper Hutt City Council	4
Kapiti-Mana Constituency	Based on joining the current boundaries of the Kapiti Coast District Council and Porirua City Council	3
Wairarapa Constituency	Remains unchanged. Based on joining the current boundaries of South Wairarapa District Council, Carterton District Council and Masterton District Council, and the area of the Tararua District Council that is just South of the Owahanga River catchment.	2

### Amendment

*That (3) in the above motion be altered so that the Hutt Valley is separated into two constituencies: Upper Hutt constituency with one member and Lower Hutt constituency with three members.* 

The motion as amended was **LOST**.

A division was called for on the substantive motion.

The votes for the motion were recorded as follows:

*For:* Councillors Baber, Buchanan, Evans, Glensor, Laidlaw, Long, McDavitt, and Shields. *Against:* Councillors Aitken, Greig, Kirton, and Wilde.

There being a majority, the substantive motion was CARRIED.

#### Noted

The public is to be made aware during the notification process that other representation options exist. It was requested that a press release that made this clear be prepared.