

Report 07.141 19 March 2007 File: E/06/19/02 m:wpdata\rep\pt/07.140doc

Report of the Meeting of the Regional Land Transport Strategy Hearing Subcommittee held in the Wellington Regional Council Chamber, Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Monday, 19 March, Tuesday, 20 March and Thursday, 22 March 2007 at 9.00 am

Matters for Regional Land Transport Committee Decision are shown in bold type and enclosed in a box.

Matters for Information of the Regional Land Transport Committee are in italic type.

#### Present

Councillors McDavitt (Chairperson), Cr Anderson, Mayor Milne and Mayor Staples

#### **Also Present**

Councillors Glensor, Greig, and Wilde.

#### **Officers Present**

Baxter, Davis, Hastie, Hayes, J Hewitt, R Hewitt, and Wild.

## **Public Business**

#### **Procedural Items**

RLTS 01 Apologies

(Cr McDavitt /Cr Evans)

That the Committee

Resolved

Accepts the apology for lateness from Mayor Milne. Mayor Milne arrived at 1.30pm on Monday 19 March 2007.

## **RLTS 02 Public Participation**

No members of the public wished to participate in the meeting.

## **Matters for Consideration**

# RLTS 03 Process for Considering Submissions on the Draft Wellington Regional Passenger Transport Plan

**Report 07.127** File: E/06/09/42

Resolved (Cr McDavitt/Mayor Staples)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Hears the oral submissions.
- 3. Agrees to consider all written and oral submissions in the manner set out in section 5 of this report.

#### **RLTS 04 Hearing of Submissions**

## (1) Monday 19 March 2007

Time	Submission No's. RLTS/RPTP	Name/Organisation
9.00am	RLTS 630	David Gordon – ONTRACK (presentation)
9.30	RLTS 667 RPTP 112	John Christianson - NZ Automobile Association - Wellington Branch
9.40	RLTS 747 RPTP 64	Kate Malcolm
9.50	RLTS 674 RPTP	Chris Watson – Wellington Civic Trust – Chairman of the Traffic & Transport Committee (presentation)
10.00	RLTS 666 RPTP 81	Mayor Prendergast - Wellington City Council (presentation)
10.20	RLTS 639	Tony Randle
10.30		Morning Tea
10.55	RLTS 587 RPTP 109	Masterton District Council
11.10	RLTS 543	Mayor Wayne Guppy - Upper Hutt City Council
12.00 pm	RLTS 621 RPTP 94	Hayden Smith - Rail & Maritime Transport Union
12.10	RLTS 1298 RPTP 93	Mike Mellor

Time	Submission No's. RLTS/RPTP	Name/Organisation
12.20	RLTS 491 RPTP 51	Betty van Gaalen - Kapiti Coast Grey Power
12.30		Lunch
1.30	RLTS 589	Charles Finney - Wellington Regional Chamber of Commerce
1.50	RLTS 424 RPTP 50	Tim Sheppard - Plimmerton Residents Assocation
2.00	RLTS 607 RPTP 102	Mayor Brash, Roger Blakeley - Porirua City Council
2.20	RLTS 605	John Vannisselroy – Korokoro Environment Group – RPTP only
2.30	RLTS 657 RPTP 83	John Vannisselroy
2.40	RLTS 547	Ian Hunter – Land Transport New Zealand
3.00		Afternoon tea
3.30	RLTS 806	Dean McLaren & Rosemary Barrington - MoT & MfE
4.05	RPTP 101	Peter Dow - UCOL
4.13	RLTS 618 RPTP 117	J C Horne
4.25	RLTS 458 RPTP 60	Sridhar Ekambaram – Cycle Aware Welington
4.37	RLTS 93 RPTP 82	Katie Brown

Hearings adjourned at 4.53pm on Monday 19 March 2007.

**Tuesday 20 March 2007** – Mr Anderson arrived 11.45am, apologies for late arrival and left at 2.00pm. Mayor Staples left at 4.40pm.

# (2) Tuesday 20 March 2007

Time	Submission No.	Name/Organisation
9.10 am	403	Tane Woodley
9.23	519	Richard Cole
9.30	520 & 521	Adrian Webster - Transmission Gully Action & Paekakariki Community Board
9.47	563	Jonathan Kennett
9.55	650	Bart Ludbrook & Aaron Packard - Gecko
10.05	593	Ruth Mansell
10.15	608	Jim Mansell
10.25	605	Lynette Clelland - Korokoro Environment Group
10.35		Morning Tea
11.00	656	Francis Cook
11.10	535	Sydney Shep - Horokiwi Community Association
11.23	746	Barry Malcolm
11.30	1285	Donald McDonald
11.36	85	Handley Thomson - AA Wairarapa District Council
11.46	597	Gerry Pallo
12.00 pm	488	Peter Warnes
12.06	425	Tom Beard
12.14		Lunch
1.30	622	John Wilson
1.40	548	Lynette Wharfe - Pauatahanui Residents Association
2.00	672	Wendy McGuinness - Sustainable Future
2.15	602	Ralph Chapman – Living Streets Aotearoa
2.32	627	Paula Warren
2.48	1066	Paul Bruce
3.07-3.30		Afternoon tea
4.00pm	612	Vera Ellen
4.07pm	1289	Megan Casey – Petone Community Board
4.19pm	670	Megan Hubscher & Lisa Melville
4.36pm	487	Murray Smith
4.50pm	469	David Bond
5.00pm	404	Paul Thomas

Hearings adjourned at 5.13pm on Tuesday 20 March 2007.

# (3) Thursday 22 March 2007 – Oral Submissions

Thursday 22 March 2007 – Apology from Mr Anderson for absence.

Time	Submission No.	Name/Organisation
9.00 am	485	Sandra Patton
9.18	267	Lyndy McIntyre
9.33	279	Mike Gilbert
9.41	481	Euan McQueen
9.51	652	Chris Dillon - Wellington International Airport Ltd
9.56	100	Elaine Sharman
10.07	654	Gerald Davidson
10.15	590	Brent Efford – Transport 2000+ NZ
10.30		Morning Tea
11.00	671	Sue Kedgley - Green Party
11.17	358	Barry Phease
11.25	653	Kent Dunston
11.37	1236	Craig Palmer
11.47	595	Wayne MacKenzie
11.59	918	Bronwyn Wall on behalf of Paul Kennett
12.05 pm	557	Nick Fisher
12.12	530	Bevan McCabe
12.18	573	Nigel Mander
12.27		Lunch
1.30	1047	Stephen Palmer - Regional Public Health – (presentation)
1.53	631	Roland Sapsford
2.05	1037	Billy Naylor
2.12	182	Alan Tristram
2.20	456	Graham Howell
2.38	642	Russell Morrison
2.48	614	Vanessa Clegg
2.55		Afternoon tea
3.30	643	Michael Gilchrist
3.45	634	Iona Pannett – Option3

4.02	471	Pam Hanna – Petone Planning Action Group
4.10	606	Dr Gael Ferguson - Kapiti Coast District Council
4.30	632	Andy Foster - TRAFINZ
4.43	531	John O'Malley
4.56	304	Dave Jennings

Hearings closed at 5.15pm on Thursday 22 March 2007.

## **Other Matters**

## RLTS 05 **Questions**

There were no questions.

#### RLTS 06 General

There were no matters of general business.

CR T McDAVITT Chairperson

Date:

Regional Land Transport Committee – 2 May 2007 *To be moved* 

#### **That Regional Land Transport Committee**

Adopts the report of the meeting of the Regional Land Transport Strategy Hearing Subcommittee held 19 March and 29 March 2007, Items RLTS 01 to RLTS 06 inclusive.