

Report 08.966

21 May 2008 File: SP/03/09/03 m:\wpdata\mins\council\08.334pwdoc

Confirmed Minutes of the Meeting of the Annual Plan Hearings Committee held at the Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Wednesday, 21 and Thursday, 22 May 2008 at 9.30am

### Present

Councillors Aitken, Bruce, Buchanan, Burke, Laidlaw, Lamason, Wilde (Chair) and Wilson.

## **Officers Present**

Benham, Bradbury, Corry, Davis, Dick, Hastie, Kennedy, Ryan, Saywell, and Turfrey.

# **Public Business**

APH 01 Apologies

Resolved (Cr Wilson/Cr Lamason)

That the Committee:

Confirms the apology for absence from Councillor Donaldson.

APH 02 Chairperson

Resolved (Cr Wilson/Cr Lamason)

That the Committee:

Appoint Councillor Wilde as Chairperson.

APH 03 Conflict of Interest declarations

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

# APH 04 Process for considering submissions on the Proposed 2008/09 Annual Plan

**Report 08.325** File: SP/03/09/05

Resolved (Cr Aitken/Cr Laidlaw)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the contents.
- 3. Considers all written and oral submissions in the manner set out in section 4 of this report.
- 4. Notes the responses from Divisional Managers on the submissions.
- 5. Asks the Chief Executive to further report on the implications of any proposals that it considers warrant further consideration at the Council meeting on 10 June 2008, as well as on any matters which may impact on rate requirements.
- 6. Agrees that the Council Chair sign the formal replies to all submitters on the basis of Divisional Managers' replies, or as otherwise recommended by the Committee and determined by Council, following formal adoption of the 2008/09 Annual Plan.

# APH 05 Summary of submissions received on the Proposed 2008/09 Annual Plan

**Report 08.326** File: SP/03/09/05

Resolved (Cr Lamason/Cr Aitken)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the contents.

## APH 05 **Hearing and consideration of submissions**

The following submitters spoke to their written submissions:

Porirua City Council

Land Transport New Zealand

John Topliff

Forest and Bird

Raewyn Barrington

Philip Hayward

Friends of the Waikanae River

Kapiti Coast Grey Power Association Inc.

Warwick Taylor

Wellington Residents' Coalition

Island Bay World Service

Korokoro Environmental Group

Federated Farmers of New Zealand

Tararua Tramping Club

Michael Taylor

Cycle Aware Wellington

Robin Falconer

Victoria University of Wellington

Project Wharemauku

Animal Health Board Inc.

Gerald Davidson

Retailers and school community of Naenae

Wellington Regional Chamber of Commerce

Transition Towns Maungaraki/Normandale

Wellington Regional Animal Health Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 4.45pm on Wednesday 21 May 2008 and reconvened on Thursday 22 May 2008 to hear the following submitters:

Sport Wellington Region

Katie Brown

Anders Crofoot

Ara Tahi

Stephanie Lambert

Ray Hyndman

Greg Harford.

#### APH06 Committee deliberations

Following the hearing of submissions the Committee considered a number of items of expenditure and other adjustments which have arisen since the Proposed 2008/09 Annual Plan was prepared. The Committee agreed on the items to be included in the 2008/09 numbers to be presented to Council on 10 June 2008.

The meeting concluded at 1.00pm.

Cr FH WILDE (Chair)

Date