

Report	10.125
Date	16 March 2010
File	Z/01/04/19

CommitteeCo-ordinating Executive Group (CEG)AuthorDave Benham, Chief Executive, Greater Wellington Regional Council

# **CDEM Group appointments**

#### 1. Purpose

To request the Wellington Region CDEM Co-ordinating Executive Group (CEG) to recommend to the Wellington Region CDEM Group the appointment of officers to a number of positions that have become vacant from staff changes.

### 2. Background

Appendix 4 of the CDEM Group Plan lists the statutory and non-statutory appointments made by the CDEM Group to give effect to its structural arrangements. These positions are for Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Manager (and alternates), Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers, Group Welfare Manager, and Group Lifelines Coordinators.

Legislation requires a CDEM group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area (section 26(1) of the *Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002 [CDEM Act 2002]*), and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason (section 26(2) of the *CDEM Act 2002*).

Section 27(1) of the *CDEM Act 2002* states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller and direct that person or persons to carry out any of the functions and duties of, or delegated to, that Group's Group Controller and to exercise the powers of Controllers in the area for which the Group Controller is appointed, including, but not limited to, the powers in sections 86 to 94.

At its meeting of 3 November 2005 (Report 05.601) the Wellington Region CDEM Group decided to delegate the authority for making CDEM Group appointments to the Chairperson of the CDEM Group on the recommendation of the CEG. This was to allow appointments to be made speedily.

Any new appointment(s) must be ratified by the CDEM Group at the earliest opportunity.

## 3. Vacant positions

As a result of staff changes at territorial authority level and the retirement of the Group Controller (Dr Jane Bradbury), three positions have become vacant.

The following tables show the new appointments (in bold) that are recommended, along with existing appointments:

Group Controller	Rian van Schalkwyk
Alternate Group Controllers	Ian Gunn (1 <sup>st</sup> Alternate) Craig Hamilton (2 <sup>nd</sup> Alternate)

Territorial authority	Local controllers	Local recovery managers
Wellington City	Mike Mendonca Stavros Michael (alternate)	Greg Orchard John Scott (alternate)
Porirua City	Roger Blakeley Mike Chapman (alternate) Trevor Farmer (alternate)	Moira Lawler
Kapiti District	Kevin Jefferies Gary Simpson (alternate) Don McGuire (alternate)	Bernie Goedhart Wayne Gair (alternate)
Hutt City	Paul Nickalls Marty Grenfell (alternate)	Claire Johnstone
Upper Hutt City	Chris Upton Paul Nickalls (alternate)	Chris Upton
South Wairarapa District	Derek Theobald	Kyra Low
Carterton District	Elaine Brazendale Milan Hautler (alternate)	Milan Hautler
Masterton District	Kevin Tunnell Jonathan Hooker (alternate) Luther Toloa (alternate) Roger Gardner (alternate)	George Butcher

Non-statutory appointments

Group recovery manager	Francis Ryan
Alternate group recovery managers	Barry Leonard Tim Porteous
Group lifelines co-ordinators	David Brunsdon Sandra Pedersen (Alternate)
Group welfare manager	Emma Smith

## 4. Comments

The CEG can recommend to the Chairperson of the CDEM Group that Claire Johnstone and Chris Upton be appointed to the positions shown in the above table.

For the Group Controller vacancy, it is suggested that the CEG considers appointing Rian van Schalkwyk as its Group Controller. Rian is currently the alternate Group Controller and meets all the requirements for the position of Group Controller.

All new appointments will have to be incorporated into the CDEM Group Plan.

### 5. Recommendations

That CEG recommend to the Chairperson of the CDEM Group that the following appointments be made:

- 1. Rian van Schalkwyk, Group Controller
- 2. Claire Johnstone, Local Recovery Manager, Hutt City Council
- 3. Chris Upton, Local Recovery Manager Controller, Upper Hutt City Council. That the Co-ordinating Executive Group:

Report prepared by:

David Benham Chief Executive, GWRC