

Confirmed Minutes of the meeting of the Regional Sustainability Committee held in the Helen Smith Room, Pataka Museum, Porirua on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 at 9.00am

Present

Councillors Laidlaw (Chairman), Aitken, Baber, Bruce, Burke, Donaldson, Kirton and Wilde

RS 195 Apologies

Moved

(Cr Laidlaw /Cr Donaldson.)

That the Committee accepts the apologies for absence from Mrs Mellish and Mr McKenzie.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

RS 196 Conflict of Interest declarations

Cr Wilde noted that she is a member of the Kapiti US Marines Trust (an oral submitter at this hearing).

RS 197 Process for considering submissions on the draft Greater Wellington Parks Network Plan

Report 10.367 File: PK/03/12/01

Moved (Cr Bruce/Cr Wilde)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

RS 198 Submissions Report – Proposed Greater Wellington Parks Network Plan

Report 10.453 File: PK/03/12.01

Moved (Cr Donaldson/Cr Baber)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Hears oral submissions and considers all submissions.
- 4. Agrees to make the changes to the Greater Wellington Parks Network Plan as set out in Attachment 1 of this report, and additional changes identified by the Committee at this meeting, as a result of consideration of submissions.
- 5. Agrees to delegate to the Committee Chair approval of minor editorial changes to the draft Greater Wellington Parks Network Plan to be reported to Council.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

The submitters presented orally in the following order:

7 Dill Maira	0.0/.0.00am
7 – Bill Nairn Individual	9.06-9.08am
	9.08-9.14am
17,70 – Trevor Burling	9.08-9.144111
Welly Tramway Museum	9.14-9.19am
21 – Janet Holborow	9.14-9.19am
Paekakariki Community Board	0.20.0.20
4 – Ray Hyndman	9.20-9.28am
Individual F3.54.55	0.20.0 52
53,54,55 – Jan Nisbet	9.28-9.53am
Individual, Sport Welly, CWB Advisory	0.50.40.05
58 – Peter Sinke, Robert Austin	9.53-10.05am
Rotary Club Plimmerton	
41 – Simon Muckley	10.05-10.13am
The Wellington Wildfowlers	
Tea Break	10.15-10.37am
79 – Allison Webber	10.37-10.58am
Kapiti US Marines Trust	
77 – Steve Lewis	Did not attend
Kapiti Mountain Bike Club	
88 – Peter Rendall	10.58-11.15am
Omnibus Society	
89 – Mike Fuller, Gavin Bradley	11.15-11.30am
Whale Song	
72 – Christine Jacobson	11.30-11.48am
Porirua City Council	
61 – Jay Davison	Did not attend
Upper Cannons Creek Catchment Steering Committee	
Deliberations on written submissions	11.48am -12.07pm
Lunch	12.07-12.34
30 – Sylvia Jenkin	12.34-12.54pm
Friends of Maara Roa	'
36 – Kate and Barry Malcolm	12.54-1.05pm
Individual	
76 – Judith De Wilde	1.06-1.15pm
Individual	
78 – Mark Lyle Phillips	1.15-1.30pm
Individual	· · · · · · · ·
29 – Kelly Bennington-Barr	1.30-1.39pm
Individual	
31 – Dean and Lisa Whiteman (Speaker Dean	1.39-1.47pm
Whiteman)	····/piii
Individual	
48 – Ron and Tricia Segal (Speaker Ron Segal)	1.48-2.06pm
Individual	1.10 2.00pm
65 – Tara Cooper, Tony Elliott (Speaker Tara Cooper)	2.07-2.16pm
Individual	2.07 2.10μ111
68 – Tara Cooper (and Diane Strugnell)	2.16-2.26pm
Preserve Pauatahanui	2.10 2.20μπ
71 – Diane Strugnell	2.26-2.33pm
	1 ((1)=())
Individual	2.20 2.00pm

82, 83 – Nicki Chapman and Alan Gray Pauatahanui Futures Society Inc. and Pauatahanui Residents Association Inc. (Speaker Pherne Tancock)	2.33-3.07pm
Tea Break	3.07-3.32pm
75 – Jennifer Hutson	3.32-3.42pm
Moonshine Valley Residents Association	·
73 – Simon Arnold, Anne Stapleton	Did not attend
Moonshine Hill Farming	
74 – St. John, Diana Wakefield	3.42-3.43pm
Individual	·
14 – Betty van Gaalen	Did not attend, but document tabled
Kapiti Grey Power	
49 – James Kilbride	3.08-3.15pm
KCDC	
82 – Jenny Rowan	3.15-3.25pm
Individual	

The meeting adjourned at 3.44pm and reconvened on Wednesday 25 August.

Minutes of the reconvened meeting of the Regional Sustainability Committee held in the Level 8 Alpha Room, the Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Wednesday, 25 August 2010 at 9.00am

Present

Councillors Laidlaw (Chairman), Aitken, Baber, Bruce, Burke, Donaldson, Kirton & Wilde.

The submitters presented orally in the following order:

66 – Gail Abel (speakerDoug Mercer)	9.02-9.15am
Mainland Island Restoration Operation	7.02-7.13dill
37 – Janie Cook	Did not attend
Individual	Did not attend
33 – Denise Davis [video to be played]	9.19-9.44am
Friends of QE Park	7.17-7.44diii
80 – Alan Happy	9.44-9.58am
Winstone Aggregates	7.44 7.30dill
59 – Cole O'Keefe	Did not attend
NZTA	Did not ditond
98 – Peter Matcham	9.58-10.10am
Friends of Belmont Regional Park	766 161164111
87, 86 – J Chris Horne	10.12-10.33am
Individual, Wellington Botanical Society	
Tea Break	10.33-10.45am
69 – Robin Maud	10.45-10.52am
Rotary Club of Hutt City	
45 – Brian Miller	10.52-11.12am
Welly Amateur Radio Club	
46 – Kris Ericksen	Did not attend
Welly Hang-gliding and Paragliding Club	
57 – Sandra Clark, Nicci Lock	11.13-11.19am
Film NZ, Film Welly	
92,94 – Grant Purdie	11.19-11.42am
Cross Country Vehicle Club	
Andy Cockroft	11.43-12.05pm
ARAC	·
47 – Peter Hunt (Speaker Ken Mews)	12.07-12.22pm
Forest and Bird	
62 – Michael Taylor	12.22-12.37
Individual	

The meeting adjourned at 12.39pm and reconvened on Thursday 26 August.

Minutes of the reconvened meeting of the Regional Sustainability Committee held in the Level 8 Alpha Room, the Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Thursday, 26 August 2010 at 9.00am

Present

Councillors Laidlaw (Chairman), Aitken, Baber, Bruce, Burke, Donaldson, Kirton & Wilde.

The Committee completed its consideration of all submissions and its deliberations, except for matters relating to wind energy development, specifically pertaining to Battle Hill Farm Forest Park and Akatarawa Forest.

The meeting adjourned at 12.25pm and reconvened on Monday 30 August.

Minutes of the reconvened meeting of the Regional Sustainability Committee held in the Council Chamber, the Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Monday, 30 August 2010 at 2.00pm

Present

Councillors Laidlaw (Chairman), Aitken, Baber, Bruce, Burke, Donaldson, Kirton & Wilde.

The Committee reconvened to consider matters relating to wind energy development, specifically pertaining to Battle Hill Farm Forest Park and Akatarawa Forest

The committee went into public exclusion at 2.15pm to receive Report RPE 08.706 (Minutes of the Restricted Public Excluded part of the Council meeting held on 29 September 2008) to clarify matters relating to Council's September 2008 decisions relating to the proposed Puketiro windfarm.

The Committee then reconvened in public at 2.40pm to discuss matters relating to wind energy development and Battle Hill Farm Forest Park.

Moved

(Cr Burke/Cr Donaldson)

That the Committee:

1. Agrees to delete provisions in the Draft Greater Wellington Parks Network Plan providing for access roads for windfarm purposes in Battle Hill Farm Forest Park.

A division was called for. The results of the voting were as follows:

Councillor	Vote on the motion
Aitken	For
Baber	Against
Bruce	Against
Burke	For
Donaldson	For
Kirton	For
Laidlaw	Against
Wilde	Against

On an equality of votes (4-4) the Chairperson cast his casting vote against the motion; the motion was therefore **LOST**.

That the Committee:

1. Agrees to delete clause 7 of section 6.1.3 of the Draft Greater Wellington Parks Network Plan ("Wind energy development on selected ridgelines")

A division was called for. The results of the voting were as follows:

Councillor	Vote on the motion
Aitken	For
Baber	Against
Bruce	Against
Burke	For
Donaldson	For
Kirton	For
Laidlaw	Against
Wilde	Against

On an equality of votes (4-4) the Chairperson cast his casting vote against the motion; the motion was therefore **LOST**.

The meeting closed at 4.00pm.

Cr CR Laidlaw Chairman

Date: