

Please note that these minutes remain unconfirmed until the meeting of the Council on 13 June 2012

Report 12.206 21/05/2012

File: E/11/01/03

# Minutes of the meeting of the Long-Term Plan 2012-22 Hearing Committee held in the Council Chamber, Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street Wellington, at 9am on 21 May, 9.05am on 22 May, and 10.05am on 23 May 2012

#### Present

Councillors Donaldson (Chair), Aitken (from 10.40am, 22 May), Brash, Bruce, Glensor (absent on 22 May), Laidlaw, Lamason, McPhee (from 9.10am, 21 May), Ponter, Swain, Wilde and Wilson (from 9.17am, 21 May).

#### 1 Apologies

Moved

(Cr Aitken / Cr Laidlaw)

That the Committee:

Accepts the apologies for lateness from Councillors McPhee and Wilson.

The motion was **CARRIED.** 

#### 2 Conflict of Interest declarations

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

## 3 **Process for hearing submissions on the draft Long Term Plan 2012-22**

#### **Report 12.180**

Moved

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Accepts the late submissions received on the draft Long Term Plan 2012-22 for consideration.

#1051018

File: E/11/01/04

(Cr Aitken / Cr Laidlaw)

4. Reports its findings and recommendations to the Council meeting on 13 June 2012.

The motion was CARRIED.

# 4 Submissions received on the draft Long-Term Plan 2012-22

**Report 12.195** 

Moved

File: SP/05/03/03

(Cr Brash / Cr Lamason)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Considers the information in this report in determining its findings and recommendations to Council.

The motion was CARRIED.

## 5 Hearing of oral submissions

A timetable of oral submissions was circulated. There were changes to the scheduled timetable of as some submitters did not appear and some organisations were represented by different personnel.

Oral submitters were heard in the following order:

Monday	21	Мау
--------	----	-----

Time	Submission No.	Name and organisation
9.05 - 9.17	68	Mary Byrne – Fluoride Action Network
9.17 - 9.27	1104 & 1064	Mark Atkin – The NZ Fluoridation
9.27 – 9.31	1062	Sue Hamill
9.31 – 9.41	1271	Lisa Hansen – The NZ Health Trust
9.41 - 9.51	1230 & 1017	Deb Gully – Wellington Chapter of the Weston A Foundation
9.51 - 9.56	937	Noeline Gannaway
9.56 - 10.01	1193	Matthieu Aubry

The meeting adjourned at 10.01am and reconvened at 10.12am.

10.12 - 10.21	562	Kris Erickson – Wellington Hanggliding & Paragliding
---------------	-----	---

10.21 - 10.36	1123	Robert Tredger & Malcom Sparrow – Tawa Community Board
10.36 - 10.48	1220	Ellen Blake & Mike Mellor – Living Streets Aotearoa
10.48 - 11.08	1277	Paul Millen – NZ Dryland Forest Initiative

The meeting adjourned at 11.08am and reconvened at 11.32am.

11.33 – 11.43	1200	Kristen Price – The Enviro Schools Foundation
11.43 – 11.53	1221	Karen Burgess – The Enviro Schools Team
11.53 – 12.00	979	Charlie Devenish
12.00 - 12.05	1194	Amanda Dobson
12.05 - 12.10	1279	Brittany Packer
12.18 - 12.35	1273	Mayor Wayne Guppy & Chris Upton UHCC

The meeting adjourned at 12.35pm and reconvened at 1.18pm.

1.18 – 1.23	1188	Maria van der Meel – This City is Ours inc
1.23 – 1.33	1097	Phil Bilborough
1.33 – 1.48	1203	John Lancashire and Robin Fordham - Trustees of the Friends of Queen Elizabeth Park
1.48 - 1.53	1264	Isobel Cairns
1.53 – 1.57	1186 & 1219	Pauline Innes
1.57 – 2.15	1231	Stephen Palmer & Jill McKenzie
2.15 - 2.27	1232	Cr Tony Lester KCDC
2.27 - 2.30	163 & 908	Celia Derby
2.30 - 2.37	196	Daryl Cockburn – Cockburn Architects
2.37 - 2.54	1217	Ian Cassels – Property Council Wellington Branch
2.54 - 3.13	1227 & 1237	Paula Warren – Transport Voice (1227)
3.13 - 3.25	895	Jan Nisbet
3.25 - 3.34	1198	Feriel Falcolner – Friends of the Waikanae River

The meeting adjourned at 3.34pm and reconvened at 3.48pm.Cr Glensor did not return to the meeting.

3.48 - 3.58	1105	Grant Baker – Porirua Harbour & Catchment Community Trust
3.58 - 4.08	1136	Ian Corder – Kapiti – Mana Forest & Bird

4.08 - 4.18	1259	Cr Lyn Patterson MDC
4.18 - 4.29	1258	Barbara Mitcalfe & Chris Horne
4.30 - 4.39	1234	Helen Swalles
4.39 - 4.49	999	Mates Men's Network - Project to prevent male suicide (Video presentation)
4.50 - 5.05	1256	Kendall Akhurst – WCC Accessibility Advisory Group
5.05 - 5.15	1222	Shaun Newland - Fonterra
5.15 - 5.25	1241	Ashley Burgess – Revolve Cycling Club

The meeting adjourned at 5.30pm and reconvened on Tuesday 22 May at 9:05am.

# **Tuesday 22 May**

## 6 Apologies

Moved

(Cr Donaldson / Cr Lamason)

That the Committee:

Accepts the apology for absence from Councillor Glensor and the apology for lateness from Councillor Aitken on 22 May.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

# 7 Hearing of oral submissions

Oral submitters were heard in the following order:

Time	Submission No.	Name and organisation
9.05 –9.17	1199	Pat van Berkel – Friends of the Hutt River
9.17 – 9.25	1180	Alastair Smith
9.25 - 9.34	1075	William Cook – Animal Health Board
9.34 - 9.45	612	Hilleke Townsend
9.45 - 10.04	1269	Chris Peterson – Sustainable Wairarapa inc

The meeting adjourned at 10.35am and reconvened at 10.17am.

10.17 – 10.35	1274	Jordan Williams & Stephen Franks – The Heart of Wllgn Assn
10.35 - 10.40	1211	Rob Martin

10.40 - 10.47	1246	Stephanie Cairns
10.47 -10.50	1098	The Chair read a statement on behalf of Ken Jackson
10.50 - 10.59	208	Collin Kelly
10.59 – 11.17	1197	Elizabeth McCruddy & Anders Crofoot – Federated Farmers of NZ
11.17 – 11.35	1263	Martin Payne – Friends of Owhiro Stream
11.35 – 11.38	267	Aaron Williams

The meeting adjourned at 11.38am and reconvened at 11.50am.

11.50 - 12.03	1183	Lyn Sleath – Kapiti Cycling club Inc
12.03 - 12.15	966	John Topliff – Kapiti Ecological Restoration
12.15 – 12.25	888	Max Lutz - Friends of Otaki River
12.25 - 12.34	1267	Paul Young – Generation Zero
12.34 - 12.45	1196	Bob McLellan

The meeting adjourned at 12:45pm and reconvened at 1:28pm. Councillor Wilde returned to the meeting at 2.17pm.

1.28 - 1.44	1330	Fred McDonald
1.44 – 1.56	1060 & 1107	James Burgess – Cycle Aware Wellington
1.56 - 2.13	1109	Allan Bloomfield
2.13 - 2.16	1205	Graeme Carroll
2.16 - 2.21	715	Annemarie Wood
2.21 - 2.48	1272	Zane Fulljames – NZ Bus
2.50 - 2.57	Late submission	Bev Abbott – Wllgn Botanical Society
2.57 - 3.18	1275	Jeremy Harding & Simon Arnold – Wllgn Employers Chamber of Commerce
3.19 - 3.32	1260	Tony Randle – Johnsonville Progressive Association
3.32 - 3.50	1244	Alan Brown – Great Harbour Way
3.53 - 4.00	980	Peter Gaskin – TB Free Wellington

The meeting adjourned at 4pm and reconvened 4.15pm.

The Council commenced its deliberations.

The meeting adjourned at 6.20pm and reconvened on Wednesday 23 May at 10.05am.

# Wednesday 23 May

#### 8. Apologies

There were no apologies.

#### 9. Submissions received on the draft Long-Term Plan 2012-22

The Committee completed its consideration of Report 12.195 (see item 4).

Moved

(Cr Donaldson/ Cr Wilde)

4. Requests the officers to investigate and recommend options, including those relating to our buildings in Attachment 3, which would bring the average rate line below 5% in 2012/13.

The motion was CARRIED.

Noted: The Committee thanked officers for their work on the draft Long-Term Plan.

The meeting closed at 10.07am.

Cr B Donaldson (Chair)

Date