Terms of Reference for the Regional Land Transport Plan 2015 Hearing Subcommittee

December 2014

1. Membership

The membership of the RLTP 2015 Hearing Subcommittee comprises:

- Mayor Staples (SWDC)
- Mayor Leggett (PCC)
- Mayor Guppy (UHCC)
- Cr Andy Foster (WCC)
- Cr Paul Swain (GWRC)
- Raewyn Bleakley (NZTA)
- Peter Baird (NZ Police)

Cr Swain is Chairperson of the Committee.

The quorum is four members.

2. Meeting procedures

The Greater Wellington Regional Council Standing Orders apply.

All members have equal speaking rights and a deliberative vote. In addition, the Chairperson has a casting vote in the case of an equality of votes.

Hearings will be open to the public, except where there are grounds to exclude the public in terms of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987.

Members must be present for the substantial part of the hearings and deliberations in order to participate in the decision-making of the Subcommittee.

3. Powers

The Subcommittee has the power to:

- consider both the written and oral submissions and other consultation material on the Draft RLTP 2015
- seek clarification from Council officers on any technical matters; and
- develop recommendations on amendments to the draft RLTP 2015 for consideration by the Regional Transport Committee at its meeting on 28 April 2015.

4. **Responsibilities**

The Subcommittee shall ensure that:

• the hearing and consideration process is carried out in a way that is effective and timely;

- submitters are provided with the best possible opportunity to be heard in support of their submission;
- subcommittee members receive submissions with an open mind and give due consideration to each submission; and
- the decision-making process is robust and transparent.

5. Duration of Committee

The Subcommittee is deemed to be dissolved at the end of the decision-making process on the RLTP 2015.