

Report	15.135
Date	12 March 2015
File	Z/01/04/19
Committee	Civil Defence Emergency Management Group
Author	Bruce Pepperell, Regional Manager

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To request the Wellington CDEM Group make the following CDEM Group appointments.

2. Background

The CDEM Act (Sections 26 and 27) requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason. It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

3. CDEM Group appointments

The updated list of endorsements and appointments for the Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Managers, Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers and the Group Lifelines Utility Co-ordinator is proposed as follows.

Controllers	
CDEM Group	Bruce Pepperell (Group Controller)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Ian Gunn (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)
	Anthony Wilson (alternate)
Wellington City	Simon Fleisher (Local Controller)
	Haydn Read (alternate)
	Karyn Stillwell (alternate)
	Geoff Swainson (alternate)
	Mark Constable (alternate)
Porirua City	Jerry Wrenn (Local Controller)

Statutory appointments:

	Trevor Farmer (alternate) Willie Taurima (alternate)
	Helen Brooks (alternate)
Kapiti District	Tamsin Evans (Local Controller)
	Wayne Maxwell (alternate)
	Scott Dray (alternate) Bruce Johnston (alternate)
	bluce joiniston (alternate)
Hutt City	Dave Jack (Local Controller)
-	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Bruce Sherlock (alternate)
	Lachlan Wallach (alternate)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Ian Johnson (alternate)
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach (Local Controller)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Ian Johnson (alternate)
Wairarapa	Kevin Tunnell (Local Controller)
-	Mark Allingham (alternate)
	Jonathan Hooker (alternate)
	Murray Johnstone (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)

Non-statutory appointments:

Recovery Managers	
CDEM Group	Jane Davis
	Tim Porteus
Mallin at an Oite	Cree Orcherd
Wellington City	Greg Orchard
	Anthony Wilson Paul Andrews
	Warren Ulusele
	Danny McComb
Porirua City	Wendy Walker
	Chris Lipscombe
Kapiti Coast District	Stephen McArthur
	Andrew Guerin
	View Valler
Hutt City	Kim Kelly
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach
oppor nucl only	Andrea Millar
Wairarapa	David Hopeman (Masterton)
	Kyra Low(South Wairarapa)
	Milan Hautler (Carterton)

Lifelines Co-ordination	
CDEM Group	Richard Mowll

4. Comment

Appointments are being made in accordance with the CDEM Act 2002 and the Wellington region Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Plan (2013 - 2018).

It is likely that a new Local Controller will need to be appointed at Hutt City in the next month or two. To provide the flexibility to make this effective as soon as possible it is proposed that the authority to give final approval be delegated to the Mayor of Hutt City.

5. Communication

No further external communication is required.

6. The decision-making process and significance

The matter requiring decision in this report has been considered by officers against the requirements of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

6.1 Significance of the decision

Officers have considered the significance of the matter, taking into account the Council's significance policy and decision-making guidelines. Owing to the procedural nature of this decision officers recommend that the matter be considered to have low significance.

Officers do not consider that a formal record outlining consideration of the decision-making process is required in this instance.

6.2 Engagement

Due to its procedural nature and low significance, no engagement on this matter has been undertaken.

7. Recommendations

That the CDEM Group:

- 1. **Receives** the report.
- 2. *Notes* the content of the report.
- 3. Approves the following appointments:
 - a. Mark Constable, Alternate Local Controller, Wellington City Council
 - b. Jerry Wrenn, Local Controller, Porirua City Council

- c. David Hopeman, Recovery Manager, Masterton District Council
- 4. *Removes the following name from the previously approved appointee list:*

Mike Chapman, Porirua City

5. **Delegates** the authority to appoint the new Hutt City Local Controller to the Mayor of Hutt City

Report prepared by:

Bruce Pepperell Regional Manager