

Report 15.562

Date 29 October 2015 File CCAB-21-31

Committee Civil Defence Emergency Management Group

Author Bruce Pepperell, Regional Manager

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To request the Wellington CDEM Group make the CDEM Group appointments listed below.

2. Background

The CDEM Act (sections 26 and 27) requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason. It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

3. CDEM Group appointments

The updated list of endorsements and appointments for the Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Managers, Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers and the Group Lifelines Utility Co-ordinator is proposed as follows. New appointments and endorsements are in bold.

Statutory appointments:

Controllers	
CDEM Group	Bruce Pepperell (Group Controller)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Ian Gunn (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)
	Anthony Wilson (alternate)
	Dan Neely (alternate)
Wellington City	Simon Fleisher (Local Controller)
	Karyn Stillwell (alternate)
	Geoff Swainson (alternate)
	Mark Constable (alternate)
	Steve Cody (alternate)

	Gunther Wild (alternate) Dan Neely (alternate)
Porirua City	Jerry Wrenn (Local Controller) Trevor Farmer (alternate) Willie Taurima (alternate) Helen Brooks (alternate)
Kapiti District	Tamsin Evans (Local Controller) Wayne Maxwell (alternate) Scott Dray (alternate) Bruce Johnston (alternate)
Hutt City	Lester Piggott (Local Controller) Matt Reid (alternate) Bruce Sherlock (alternate) Lachlan Wallach (alternate) Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate) Dave Jack (alternate) Craig Cottrill (alternate)
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach (Local Controller) Richard Harbord (alternate) Matt Reid (alternate) Ian Johnson (alternate)
Wairarapa	Kevin Tunnell (Local Controller) Mark Allingham (alternate) Jonathan Hooker (alternate) Murray Johnstone (alternate) Craig Hamilton (alternate)

Non-statutory appointments:

Recovery Managers	
CDEM Group	Luke Troy
	Tim Porteous
Wellington City	Greg Orchard
Weilington Oity	Anthony Wilson
	Paul Andrews
	Warren Ulusele
	Danny McComb
Porirua City	Stuart Parkinson
	Chris Lipscombe
Kapiti Coast District	Stephen McArthur
Liutt City	Kim Kelly
Hutt City	Killi Kelly
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach
	Andrea Millar

Wairarapa	David Hopeman (Masterton) Kyra Low(South Wairarapa) Milan Hautler (Carterton)

Lifelines Co-ordination		
Richard Mowll		

4. Comment

Appointments are being made in accordance with the CDEM Act 2002 and the Wellington region Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Plan (2013 – 2018).

5. Communication

No further external communication is required.

6. The decision-making process and significance

The matter requiring decision in this report has been considered by officers against the requirements of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

6.1 Significance of the decision

Officers have considered the significance of the matter, taking into account the Council's significance policy and decision-making guidelines. Owing to the procedural nature of this decision officers recommend that the matter be considered to have low significance.

Officers do not consider that a formal record outlining consideration of the decision-making process is required in this instance.

6.2 Engagement

Due to its procedural nature and low significance, no engagement on this matter has been undertaken.

7. Recommendations

That the CDEM Group:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. *Notes* the content of the report.
- 3. Approves the following appointments:
 - a. Steve Cody, Alternate Local Controller, Wellington City Council
 - b. Gunther Wild, Alternate Local Controller, Wellington City Council
 - c. Dan Neely, Alternate Local Controller, Wellington City Council

- d. Dave Jack, Alternate Local Controller, Hutt City Council
- e. Craig Cottrill, Alternate Local Controller, Hutt City Council
- f. Luke Troy, Group Recovery Manager, Greater Wellington Regional Council
- g. Stuart Parkinson, Recovery Manager, Porirua City Council
- 4. **Removes** the following names from the previously approved appointee list:
 - a. Wendy Walker, Porirua City Council
 - b. Haydn Read, Wellington City Council
 - c. Richard Harbord, Hutt City Council
 - d. Ian Johnson, Hutt City Council
 - e. Andrew Guerin, Kapiti Coast District Council

Report prepared by:

Bruce Pepperell Regional Manager