2016 Election Timetable

8 October 2016

2 March - 30 April 2016 Ratepayer roll enrolment confirmation forms sent

[Reg 16 LER]

2 March - 6 July 2016 Preparation of ratepayer roll [Reg 10 LER]

May 2016 National ratepayer roll qualifications and

procedures campaign [Sec 39 LEA]

27 June 2016 ES enrolment update campaign commences

No later than 15 July 2016 Public notice of election, calling for nominations,

advising when roll open for inspection [Sec 42, 52,

53 LEA]

15 July 2016 Nominations open/roll open for inspection

[Sec 42 LEA]

12 August 2016 Nominations close (12 noon)/ roll closes

[Sec 5, 42, 55 LEA, Reg 21 LER]

17 August 2016 Public notice of day of election and candidate

names [Sec 65 LEA]

By 12 September 2016 Electoral officer certifies final electoral roll

[Sec 51 LEA, Reg 22 LER]

16 September 2016 ES letter sent to unpublished roll electors

16 September – 21 September 2016 Delivery of voting documents [Reg 51 LER]

16 September – 8 October 2016 Progressive roll scrutiny [Sec 83 LEA]

Special voting period [sec 5 LEA, Reg 35 LER]

Early processing [Sec 80 LEA]

By 12 noon, 7 October 2016 Appointment of scrutineers [Sec 68 LEA]

8 October 2016 Election day [Sec 10 LEA]

Voting closes 12 noon – counting commences

[Sec 84 LEA]

Preliminary results available as soon as practicable after close of voting [Sec 85, Reg 80A

LER]

After 12 noon, 8 October – 13 October 2016 Official count [Sec 84 LEA]

13 October – 19 October 2016 Declaration/public notice of results [Sec 86 LEA]

By mid-December 2016 Return of election expenses and donations form

[Sec 112A LEA]

NOTES:

LEA = Local Electoral Act 2001; LER = Local Electoral Regulations 2001; ES = Enrolment Services, Electoral Commission