

Report 16.399

Date 8 August 2016 File Z/01/04/19

Committee Civil Defence Emergency Management Group

Author Bruce Pepperell, Regional Manager

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To request the Wellington CDEM Group to make the following CDEM Group appointments.

2. Background

The CDEM Act (Sections 26 and 27) requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason. It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

3. CDEM Group appointments

The updated list of endorsements and appointments for the Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Managers, Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers and the Group Lifelines Utility Co-ordinator is proposed as follows.

Statutory appointments:

Controllers	
CDEM Group	Bruce Pepperell (Group Controller)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)
	Anthony Wilson (alternate)
	Dan Neely (alternate)
	Alistair Allan (alternate)
Wellington City	Simon Fleisher (Local Controller)
	Geoff Swainson (alternate)
	Mark Constable (alternate)
	Steve Cody (alternate)

	Gunther Wild (alternate) Dan Neely (alternate)
	Amber Bill (alternate)
	Toni Thompson (alternate)
Porirua City	Jerry Wrenn (Local Controller)
	Trevor Farmer (alternate)
Kapiti District	Wayne Maxwell (Local Controller)
	Scott Dray (alternate)
	Bruce Johnston (alternate)
	Kevin Currie (alternate)
Hutt City	Lester Piggott (Local Controller)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Bruce Sherlock (alternate)
	Lachlan Wallach (alternate)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Dave Jack (alternate)
	Craig Cottrill (alternate)
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach (Local Controller)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Ian Johnson (alternate)
Wairarapa	David Hopman (Proposed Local Controller)
	Mark Allingham (alternate)
	Jonathan Hooker (alternate)
	Murray Johnstone (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (Interim Local Controller)

Non-statutory appointments:

Recovery Managers	
CDEM Group	Luke Troy
	Tim Porteus
Wellington City	Greg Orchard
Weilington City	•
	Anthony Wilson
	Paul Andrews
	Warren Ulusele
	Danny McComb
Porirua City	Stuart Parkinson
Kapiti Coast District	Stephen McArthur

Hutt City	Kim Kelly
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach Andrea Millar
Wairarapa	David Hopman (Masterton) Kyra Low(South Wairarapa) Dave Gitlings (Carterton)

Lifelines Co-ordination		
CDEM Group	Richard Mowll	

4. Comment

Appointments are being made in accordance with the CDEM Act 2002 and the Wellington region Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Plan (2013 – 2018).

5. Communication

No further external communication is required.

6. The decision-making process and significance

The matter requiring decision in this report has been considered by officers against the requirements of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

6.1 Significance of the decision

Officers have considered the significance of the matter, taking into account the Council's significance policy and decision-making guidelines. Owing to the procedural nature of this decision officers recommend that the matter be considered to have low significance.

Officers do not consider that a formal record outlining consideration of the decision-making process is required in this instance.

6.2 Engagement

Due to its procedural nature, no engagement on this matter has been undertaken.

7. Recommendations

That the CDEM Group:

- 1. **Receives** the report;
- 2. *Notes* the content of the report;
- 3. *Approves* the following appointments:
 - a. Craig Hamilton, Interim Local Controller, Wairarapa;

- 4. **Removes** the following names from the previously approved statutory appointee list:
 - a. Julian Todd, Alternate Local Controller, Wellington City Council;
 - b. Willie Taurima, Alternate Controller, Porirua City;
 - c. Helen Brooks, Alternate Controller, Porirua City; and,
 - d. Kevin Tunnell, Local Controller, Wairarapa.
- 5. **Delegates** authority to Mayor Patterson to make the following appointment subject to the appointee completing Controller training provided by WREMO:
 - a. David Hopman, Local Controller, Wairarapa.

Report prepared by:

Bruce Pepperell Regional Manager