

 Report
 16.496

 Date
 8 November 2016

 File
 CCAB-8-851

Committee Council Author Helena Strange, Democratic Services Advisor

# Local government appointments to committees and advisory groups

## 1. Purpose

For Council to appoint:

- territorial authority and New Zealand Transport Agency representatives to the Regional Transport Committee in accordance with the Land Transport Management Act 2003; and
- territorial authority members of the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee.
- territorial authority members to other committees and advisory groups (Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee, Te Kāuru Upper Ruamahanga River Floodplain Management Subcommittee Te Awarua-o-Porirua Whaitua Committee, Ruamāhanga Whaitua Committee, and the Water Wairarapa Governance Group).

# 2. Regional Transport Committee

#### 2.1 Background

The Land Transport Management Act 2003 (LTMA) specifies the following composition for regional transport committee membership:

- Two persons to represent the Regional Council
- One person from each territorial authority in the region to represent that territorial authority
- One person to represent the New Zealand Transport Agency.

#### 2.2 Nominations

Nominations for the representatives of the territorial authorities and of the New Zealand Transport Agency were sought from those organisations.

#### 2.2.1 Greater Wellington Regional Council appointees

The appointment of this Council's representatives to the Committee is the subject of a separate report (Report 16.495).

#### 2.2.2 Appointment of territorial authority representatives

The nominated representatives of the region's territorial authorities and their alternates are listed in section 7 of this report.

#### 2.2.3 Appointment of New Zealand Transport Agency representative

The New Zealand Transport Agency has nominated Raewyn Bleakley, Regional Director Central, to be the Agency's representative on the Committee. Neil Walker, Highway Manager Wellington, has been nominated as Raewyn Bleakley's alternate on the Committee.

# 3. Wellington Regional Strategy Committee

## 3.1 Background

The Wellington Regional Strategy (WRS) was developed by the region's local authorities, together with representatives of the business, education, research and voluntary sectors and central government.

Council's Wellington Regional Strategy Committee is responsible for the governance of the Strategy.

#### 3.2 Membership

The current Terms of Reference for the WRS Committee provide that the committee will consist of 10 members appointed by the Council, as follows:

- 1. One Regional Councillor.
- 2. Four members nominated by Wellington City Council.
- 3. One member nominated by each of Porirua City Council, Hutt City Council, Kapiti Coast District Council, and Upper Hutt City Council.
- 4. One member nominated by the three Wairarapa district councils.

The local government members may be replaced from time to time by written notice from a local authority to Greater Wellington Regional Council, confirming the amended nomination.

In addition, the Terms of Reference provide that each member may be represented by an alternate. Each council is entitled to nominate an alternate member who may attend and vote at meetings of the committee, but only in the event that the nominated and appointed member is unable to do so.

The Regional Councillor appointed to the committee must have an alternate who may attend and vote at the meetings of the committee when the appointed Regional Councillor is absent.

#### 3.3 Nominations

Nominations for the representatives of the territorial authorities were sought from those organisations.

#### 3.3.1 Greater Wellington Regional Council appointees

The appointment of this Council's representatives to the Committee is the subject of a separate report (Report 16.495).

#### 3.3.2 Appointment of territorial authority representatives

The nominated representatives of the region's territorial authorities and their alternates are listed in section 7 of this report.

## 4. Appointments to other committees and advisory groups

Nominations for the representatives of the territorial authorities were sought for the following organisations:

- Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee
- Te Kāuru Upper Ruamahanga River Floodplain Management Subcommittee
- Ruamāhanga Whaitua Committee
- Te Awarua-o-Porirua Whaitua Committee,
- Wairarapa Water Use Project Governance Group.

The nominated representatives of the region's territorial authorities are listed in **Attachment 1** of this report.

# 5. Communication

The territorial authorities and New Zealand Transport Agency will be notified of the Council's decision.

# 6. The decision-making process and significance

The matter requiring decision in this report has been considered against the requirements of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

## 6.1 Significance of the decision

Officers have considered the significance of the matter, taking into account the Council's significance and engagement policy, and decision-making guidelines. Due to the procedural nature of this decision officers recommend that the matter be considered to have low significance.

A formal record outlining consideration of the decision-making process is not required in this instance.

#### 6.2 Engagement

Due to its procedural nature and low significance, no engagement on this matter has been undertaken.

# 7. Recommendations

That the Council:

- 1. **Receives** the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. *Appoints* the following to the Regional Transport Committee as territorial authority representatives:

Territorial Authority	Appointee	Alternate
Carterton District Council	Mayor John Booth	Deputy Mayor Russell Keys
Hutt City Council	Mayor Ray Wallace	Cr David Bassett
Kapiti Coast District Council	Mayor K Gurunathan	Deputy Mayor Janet Holborow
Masterton District Council	Mayor Lyn Patterson	TBA
Porirua City Council	Mayor Mike Tana	Cr Ross Leggett
South Wairarapa District Council	Mayor Vivien Napier	Cr Brian Jephson
Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy	Cr John Gwilliam
Wellington City Council	Cr Chris Calvi- Freeman	Cr Sarah Free

4. Appoints Raewyn Bleakley to represent the New Zealand Transport Agency on the Committee and appoints Neil Walker as Raewyn Bleakley's alternate on the Committee. 5. *Appoints* the following to the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee as local government members:

Territorial Authority	Appointee(s)	Alternate(s)
Hutt City Council	Mayor Ray Wallace	Cr David Bassett
Kapiti Coast District Council	Mayor K Gurunathan	Deputy Mayor Janet Holborow
Porirua City Council	Mayor Mike Tana	Cr Beverley Wakem
Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy	Cr John Gwilliam
Wellington City Council	Mayor Justin Lester	TBA
	Cr Paul Eagle	TBA
	Cr Simon Marsh	TBA
	Cr Diane Calvert	TBA
Wairarapa Councils	Mayor Lyn Patterson	Mayor John Booth

6. Appoints the nominees listed in Attachment 1 as territorial authority representatives to the Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee, Te Kāuru Upper Ruamahanga River Floodplain Management Subcommittee, Ruamāhanga Whaitua Committee, Te Awarua-o-Porirua Whaitua Committee, and the Wairarapa Water Use Project Governance Group.

Report prepared by:	Report approved by:
Helena Strange Democratic Services Advisor	Francis Ryan Manager, Democratic Services

Report approved by:

Luke Troy General Manager, Strategy

Attachment 1: Territorial authorities' nominations for other committees and advisory groups