

Report 19.149

11/04/2019 File: CCAB-12-376

Minutes of the Te Kāuru Upper Ruamahanga River Floodplain Management Plan Subcommittee meeting held in the Choice Room, Greater Wellington Regional Council, 34 Chapel Street, Masterton, on Thursday, 11 April 2019 at 10:30am

#### Present

Bob Francis (Chair), Councillor Barbara Donaldson (Greater Wellington Regional Council), Stephanie Gundersen-Reid, David Holmes, Janine Ogg, and Michael Williams.

# **Public Business**

# 1 Apologies

Moved

(Mr Holmes/ Mr Williams)

That the Subcommittee accepts the apologies for absence from Councillor Deller, Deputy Mayor McClymont, Horipo Rimene and Councillor Staples.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

## 2 Conflict of Interest declarations

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

# 3 **Public Participation**

Sally Walker spoke about how she had grown up in the Wairarapa and swum in the rivers. She talked about the placement of rocks in rivers, and the removal of mature trees and their replacement with much younger trees and how she didn't approve of the gaps this created. Sally would prefer that a staged approach to tree removal occurred so that large empty spaces are avoided. Sally talked about how recently there had been low water levels in the rivers and made a request of the subcommittee that

before any river works are undertaken that photos are taken so a comparison can be made of the before and after conditions of the rivers.

### 4 Confirmation of the minutes of 13 March 2019

Moved

(Mr Holmes/ Mr Williams)

That the Subcommittee confirms the minutes of 13 March 2019 Report 19.92

The motion was **CARRIED**.

5 Te Kāuru Upper Ruamahanga River Floodplain Management Plan Subcommittee Hearing Subcommittee Terms of Reference

Francie Morrow, Project Manager, Floodplain Management Plans, spoke to the report. The days set aside for hearings are 29 and 30 April with the 2 May available for deliberations.

Report 19.120

Moved

File: CCAB-12-374

(Mr Francis/ Ms Gundersen-Reid)

That the Subcommittee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Establishes the Te Kāuru Upper Ruamāhanga Floodplain Management Plan Hearing Subcommittee.
- 4. Adopts the terms of reference for the Te Kāuru Upper Ruamāhanga Floodplain Management Plan Hearing Subcommittee, Attachment 1.
- 5. Appoints Bob Francis, David Holmes, Kate Hepburn, Stephanie Gundersen-Reid, and Cr Staples (with Cr Donaldson as alternate if required) to the Hearing Subcommittee, and appoints Bob Francis as Chair.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

The meeting closed at 10:40am.

Bob Francis (Chair)

Date: 11-6-2019