

Customer Services
P. 03 353 9007 or 0800 324 636

200 Tuam Street

PO Box 345 Christchurch 8140

www.ecan.govt.nz/contact

28 August 2023

Hon Kieran McAnulty Minister of Internal Affairs Parliament Buildings Wellington

BY EMAIL k.mcanulty@ministers.govt.nz

Tēnā koe Minister

Co-investment in flood resilience – expression of Mayoral support

Many thanks for meeting Chair Daran Ponter and I on 19 July, as we lead out the proposal for Government co-investment described in the Te Uru Kahika's *Before the Deluge* (December 2022).

At this meeting you sought assurance that the request for co investment had the support of New Zealand's entire local government sector.

As a first step in securing this assurance, Environment Canterbury presented *Before the Deluge* to the Canterbury Mayoral Forum on Thursday 24 August. At the meeting all the mayors within the Canterbury region wholeheartedly expressed their support for the co-investment proposal. As confirmation of this support, they have since signed this letter to you.

Appendix 1 lists the Canterbury region projects included in Before the Deluge, and commencement dates <u>without</u> government co-investment. Should co-investment be agreed, these projects can start immediately and be completed within three years.

Before the Deluge has also been presented to the Rural and Provincial committee of LGNZ, the Wellington Mayoral Forum and the Bay of Plenty Mayoral Forum. At these meetings too, we received full support for our proposal to seek Government co-investment to make our communities more resilient to increasingly intensive flood events.

You will shortly receive similar letters of support from all other regions, excluding Tairawhiti and the Hawke's Bay, where the government has already announced support packages post Cyclone Gabrielle.

Ngā mihi

Peter Scott

Chair

Neil Brown

Mayor

Ashburton District

Council

Craig Mackle

Mayor

Kaikoura District Council

Nigel Bowen

Mayor

Timaru District Council

Phil Mauger

Mayor

Christchurch City Council

Marie Black

Mayor

Hurunui District Council

Sam Broughton

Mayor

Selwyn District Council

Dan Gordon

Anne Munro

Mayor

Mayor

Waimakariri District Council

Mackenzie District Council

Craig Rowley

Mayor

Waimate District Council

Gary Kircher

Mayor

Waitaki District Council

CC: Chairs/Mayor, Regional Councils and Unitary Authorities

Appendix 1

Canterbury region projects in Before the Deluge			
Territorial	Project name	Total cost	Start date without
Authority		(\$m)	co-investment
Region wide	Flood recovery and resilience	20	2028
	programme		
Region wide	Fairway vegetation clearance	2.5	2032
	programme		
Region wide	Planting and berm transition	4	2028
	programme		
Region wide	Culvert, weir, structure upgrade	2.5	2030
	programme incl fish passage		
Timaru and	Rangitata River resilience	3	2028
Ashburton			
Timaru	Waitarakao / Seadown	2	2025
Selwyn	Halswell/Huritini catchment initiatives	1.5	2032